Colorado State University

RPSEA Study Team


PI and/or research lead in italics

Dag Nummedal, Kathleen Smits, Colorado School of Mines (CSM)

CSM Project managers: Cynthia Howell, Stephanie Villano, Jeremy Boak

Daniel Zimmerle, Clay Bell, Timothy Vaughn, Cody Pickering, Colorado State University (CSU)

Garvin Heath , National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)

Russell Schnell, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

Gabrielle Pétron, Stefan Schwietzke, Ingrid Mielke-Maday, Eryka Thorley, Jonathan Kofler, Phil Handley, Benjamin Miller, University of Colorado (CU) 



Partner Research Entities 


Matt Harrison, Vice President, Design Consulting Services, Environmental


Scott Herndon, Tara Yacovitch, Rob Roscioli


Tom Ferrara

Montana State University

Berk Knighton

UC Davis

Stephen Conley (Scientific Aviation Pilot/Scientist), Ian Faloona, Department of Land, Air and Water Resources

University of Wyoming

Shane Murphy, Assistant Professor, Department of Atmospheric Science; Robert Field,

Washington State University

Brian Lamb, Regents Professor and Boeing Distinguished Professor of Environmental Engineering

Energy Institute Member Organizations

Center for Energy and Behavior Center for Energy Development and Health Center for Energy Water Sustainability Center for Laser Sensing and Diagnostics Center for Next Generation Photovoltaics Center for the New Energy Economy Electric Power Systems Laboratory Engines and Energy Conversion Laboratory Industrial Assessment Center Institute for the Built Environment Rural Energy Center Sustainable Biofuels Development Center